

Awards Banquet

THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 14, 2023

Providence, RI

The National Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences educates and recognizes Extension professionals who impact the quality of life for individuals, families and communities.

Awards Banquet Agenda

DINNER AWARDS PROGRAM

Presiding: Samantha Kennedy,
Vice President for Awards & Recognition

NEAFCS AWARDS PRESENTATIONS

Lesa Rauh, Chair of the Awards Ceremony Committee

NEAFCS NATIONAL COMMUNICATIONS AWARDS

EDUCATIONAL PUBLICATION

1st Place Winner - David Brown & Team, IA

2nd Place Winner - Vicki Hayman & Team, WY

3rd Place Winner - Vicki Hayman, WY

INTERNET EDUCATION TECHNOLOGY

1st Place Winner - Jenna Smith & Team, IL

2nd Place Winner - Melanie Jewkes & Team, UT

3rd Place Winner - Candice Christian & Team, NC

NEWSLETTERS

1st Place Winner - Rachel Tansey & Team, NJ

<mark>2nd Place Winner - Priscilla</mark> Gilliam, TN

3rd Place Winner - Sharolyn Jackson, KS

RADIO/PODCAST

1st Place Winner - Tristin Bolton & Team, AR

2nd Place Winner - Karen Poff & Team, VA

3rd Place Winner - Lydia Hoskins, TN

TELEVISION/VIDEO

1st Place Winner - Crystal Tyler-Mackey & Team, VA

2nd Place Winner - Jessica Riggin, OK

3rd Place Winner - Kristi Shive, KY

WRITTEN MEDIA

1st Place Winner - Andrea Nikolai, FL

2nd Place Winner - Portia Johnson & Team, AL

3rd Place Winner - Denise Sullivan, MO

COMMUNITY PARTNERSHIP AWARD

1st Place Winner - Maren Voss & Team, UT

2nd Place Winner - Sara Bridgewater, MO

3rd Place Winner - Amy Monk, AR

EARLY CHILDHOOD CHILD CARE TRAINING AWARD

1st Place Winner - Jenny Rudolph & Team, OR

2nd Place Winner - Shannon Wilson & Team. IA

3rd Place Winner - Jennifer Parlin & Team, AZ

EDUCATIONAL CURRICULUM PACKAGE AWARD

1st Place Winner - Portia Johnson & Team, AL

2nd Place Winner - JoAnn Vann & Team, AR

3rd Place Winner - Heather Wingo & Team, AR

ENVIRONMENTAL EDUCATION AWARD

1st Place Winner - Ashleigh Childs & Team, GA

2nd Place Winner - Laura Smith & Team, GA

3rd Place Winner - Anna Goff & Team, AR

EXCELLENCE IN MULTI STATE COLLABORATION AWARD

1st Place Winner - Audrey Rider & Team, SD

2nd Place Winner - Sara Croymans & Team, MN

3rd Place Winner - Rachel Stewart & Team, GA

EXCELLENCE IN TEAMWORK AWARD

1st Place Winner - Alyshia Victoria & Team, TN

2nd Place Winner - Laura Graves & Team, TX

3rd Place Winner - Emma Parkhurst & Team, UT

EXTENSION DISASTER EDUCATION AWARD

1st Place Winner - Nichole Huff & Team, KY

2nd Place Winner - Melanie Taylor & Team, FL

3rd Place Winner - Anna Goff, AR

FAMILY HEALTH AND WELLNESS AWARD

1st Place Winner - Carrie Elsen & Team, MO

2nd Place Winner - Kenna Knight & Team, KY

3rd Place Winner - June Puett & Team, TN

FOOD SAFETY AWARD

1st Place Winner - T<mark>orrie</mark> Smith & Team, AR

2nd Place Winner - Andrea Schmutz & Team, UT

3rd Place Winner - Cecelia Hostilo & Team, KY

HUMAN DEVELOPMENT/ FAMILY RELATIONSHIPS AWARD

1st Place Winner - Melanie Dabb & Team, UT

2nd Place Winner - Sara Croymans & Team, MN

3rd Place Winner - Kyleigh Brown & Team, MO

INNOVATIVE YOUTH DEVELOPMENT PROGRAMMING AWARD

<mark>1st Place Winner - Karen</mark> Denniston & Team, KY

<mark>2n</mark>d Place <mark>Winner - K</mark>enna Knight & Team, KY

3rd Place Winner - Lance Hansen & Team, ID

MARKETING PACKAGE AWARD

1st Place Winner - Shelley Meyer, KY

2nd Place Winner - Heidi LeBlanc & Team, UT

3rd Place Winner - Niki Maness, NC

MASTER FAMILY & CONSUMER SCIENCES VOLUNTEER PROGRAM AWARD

National Winner - Joanne Ureste-Armijo, TX

PROGRAM EXCELLENCE THROUGH RESEARCH AWARD

1st Place Winner - Matthew Brosi & Team. OK

2nd Place Winner - Naomi Bechtold & Team, IN

3rd Place Winner - Patricia Carroll & Team, WI

SCHOOL WELLNESS AWARD

1st Place Winner - Rhonda Peters, NC

2nd Place Winner - Shannon Cromwell & Team, UT

3rd Place Winner - Shanda Doyle-Stephens, OK

SNAP-ED/EFNEP EDUCATION AWARD

1st Place Winner - Jessica Alfonso & Team, FL

2nd Place Winner - Jessica Hunley, KY

3rd Place Winner - Stacy Clark & Team, TN

SOCIAL MEDIA EDUCATION AWARD

1st Place Winner - Candice Christian & Team, NC

2nd Place Winner - Z. Tennille Short & Team, TN

3rd Place Winner - Lori Korthals & Team, IA

EXTENSION EDUCATION OF THE YEAR AWARD

National Winner – Margaret Jenkins, OH

EXTENSION HOUSING OUTREACH AWARD

National Winner - Jill Breslawski & Team, FL

National Winner - Susan Moore & Team, GA

2nd Place Winner - Sara Croymans & Team, MN

3rd Place Winner - Michael Elonge & Team, MD FINANCIAL
MANAGEMENT AWARD
IN MEMORY OF DEAN
DON FELKER

National Winner – Katie Gellings & Team, WI

FLORENCE HALL AWARD

1st Place Winner - Sarah Poole & Team, TN

2nd Place Winner - Joy West & Team, AR

3rd Place Winner - Mary Beth Lima & Team, TN GREENWOOD FRYSINGER
AWARD

National Winner – Elizabeth Martin, LA

INNOVATION IN PROGRAMMING AWARD

1st Place Winner - Jackie Steffen & Team, NE

2nd Place Winner - Valerie Vincent, LA

3rd Place Winner - Rick Griffiths & Team, NM MARY W. WELLS MEMORIAL DIVERSITY AWARD

1st Place Winner - Sara Croymans & Team, MN

2nd Place Winner - Linda Reddish & Team, NE

3rd Place Winner - Kim Griffin & Team, FL

PAST PRESIDENTS' NEW PROFESSIONAL AWARD

National Winner – Portia Johnson, AL

DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD

ALABAMA

Sharon Haynes

ARKANSAS

JoAnn Vann Joy West

FLORIDA

Maria Portelos-Rometo

IDAHO

Karen Richel

INDIANA

Diana Stone

KANSAS

Elizabeth Brunscheen-Cartagena Rebecca Reid **KENTUCKY**

Angie York Natalie Taul

NORTH CAROLINA

Hayley Cowell Olivia Patchel

NORTH DAKOTA

Christina Masich

OREGON

Robin Maille

TENNESSEE

Heather Smith Lamanda Weston Sarah Poole **TEXAS**

Jennifer Trufan Lynette Babcock

UTAH

Cindy Nelson

VIRGINIA

Glenn Sturm

WEST VIRGINIA

Dana Wright

WISCONSIN

Carol Bralich

A SPECIAL THANK YOU TO OUR 2023 STAR DONOR CLUB MEMBERS AND SILENT AUCTION DONORS!





CONTINUED EXCELLENCE AWARD

ALABAMA

Lori Wheeler

ARKANSAS

Leigh Ann Bullington

FLORIDA

Annie Wallau

IDAHO

Kathleen Tifft

KANSAS

Chelsea Richmond

KENTUCKY

Cecelia Hostilo Mindy McCulley Shannon Smith

Snannon Smiti

NEW YORK Linda Law

OHIO

Beth Stefura Marie Economos

OKLAHOMA

Dea Rash Lynda Latta **TENNESSEE**

Karen Franck

UTAH

Stacey MacArthur

VIRGINIA

Kimberly Edmonds

WISCONSIN

Jackie Carattini

NEAFCS HALL OF FAME

Theresa Mayhew, NY Barbara Tricinella, OK

RECOGNITION/APPRECIATION OF 2022-2023 OUTGOING BOARD MEMBERS

Gina Crist - Delaware Affiliate Tri-Liaison
Shauna Henley - Maryland Affiliate Tri-Liaison
Maria Pippidis - Delaware Affiliate Tri-Liaison
Cindy Thompson - Central Region Director
Keishon Thomas - Southern Region Director
Jennifer Bridge - Vice President for Public Affairs
Samantha Kennedy - Vice President for Awards & Recognition
Glenn Sturm - Treasurer
Rick Griffiths - President-Elect

Rick Griffiths - President-Elect
Susan Routh - Immediate Past President
Julie Garden-Robinson - President

CLOSING REMARKS

Rick Griffiths, President

THANK YOU TO OUR 2023

CAward Sponsors

Financial Management Award in Memory of Dean Don Felker

Sponsored by: Purdue Extension Health and Human Sciences Educators

Innovation in Programming Award



Extension Housing Outreach Award





Past Presidents' New Professional Award

Sponsored by: NEAFCS Past Presidents

Special Recognition

Tonight, we would like to recognize the following individuals for their contributions to NEAFCS:

THE 2022-2023 NEAFCS AWARDS AND RECOGNITION COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Lesa Rauh, Awards Ceremony Committee Chair Roseanne Scammahorn, Awards Sponsorship & Support Committee Chair

Judy Corbus, Awards Training Committee Chair