HISTORICAL REPORT 1994

REPORT OUTLINE

Year (use the date of the annual session) 1994

President's Name: Phyllis Cooper

Winter Board Meeting: Galveston, Texas Spring Board Meeting: Holland, Michigan Annual Session: Wichita, Kansas

Major Accomplishments

Nine states responded to the Texas fund-raising challenge for the diversity Award. An Affirmative action state was added to the Strategic Plan. Actively encouraged participation of 1890 colleagues. General association funds and Educational Award funds were separated.

New organizational structure with 4 VPs, Secretary, Treasurer, 4 Regional Directors, Immediate past president.

DSA and CE awards were upgraded from certificates to plaques. Increase in award applications from 557 in 1993 to 813 in 1994 (attributed to a simplified application procedure.) 1995 award applications made available on a disk at Annual session 1994.

A new award, Home Economist of he Year was established for experienced members. NAEHE proposed and succeeded in establishing a JCEP team award for 1997 Galaxy Summit.

A computer technology track was added to Annual Session with participation of six universities.

NAEHE contracted with The Administrators in Phoenix, Arizona as the national office. Ruth Helein is the administrator who handles the daily operation of NAEHE. Additional services were secured from The Administrators for conference planning and production of the publications.

Accomplishments of The Administrators: Permanent address and telephone established. Storage for records and Annual Session supplies. Registration and exhibits handled by the conference planner. Membership data base was purged and updated. Honorary member data base updated. Bulk mailings were bar-coded for faster delivery.

Goals for the future (as listed in the 1994 Report to Membership): Greater voice for Extension home economists with policy makers. Greater involvement of honorary members in NAEHE. Encourage performance-based measurement of NAEHE. Increased corporate sponsorship. Explore electronic transmission of publications Encourage future use of electronic communications.

Advisory Council members: Po Yung Lai, Honolulu, Hawaii Mary Harvey, East Lansing, Michigan